Publications students attend IUS Press Day, win awards

Over 370 students filled University Center at Indiana University Southeast for the annual IU Southeast High School Press Day. Thirty-two of those eager students were from Scottsburg High School.  After a greeting by Chancellor Ray Wallace and a keynote speaker, Robyn Sekula of SPJ Louisville Metro, students attended workshops given by journalism professionals. The awards ceremony followed.

The yearbook staff received first place awards for Best Advertising Section, Best Opening, and Best Photography; second place for Best Sports Coverage, Best Club Coverage, Best Design,  Best Theme and Divisional Pages, Best Cover, Best People Section; and third place for Best Coverage of Academics. They placed second in the Yearbook of the Year contest.

The Booster also brought home their share of awards with Tori Rone receiving first place for Best Sports Photo and Lindsey Boswell receiving first place for Best Editorial. Second place awards were earned by Zach Roberts for Best Sports Story; Tori Rone for Best News Story; and Haley Mullins for Best Feature Photo. Third place went to Tori Rone for Best Front Page Design; Crystal Hudgens for Best Review; The Booster for Best Editorial; Lindsey Boswell and Chelsea Mills for Best Photo Essay. The Booster also placed second in the Newspaper of the Year contest.

Leave a Reply

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: