FFA receives Friend of Conservation Award and hosts District XI Chapter Challenge

On the 9th of January, 2018 three FFA members, Kaitlyn Borden, Lauren Hamelman and Kaitlinne Moldero, traveled to Indianapolis, Indiana with advisor Caroline VanGosen. They were able to attend the IASWCD (Indiana Association Soil and Water Conservation District) Annual Conference Awards Luncheon. While attending the luncheon, FFA was awarded with the IASWCD Friend of Conservation Award. This particular Friend of Conservation Award goes to a non-profit individual or organization that has made a difference within their local Soil and Water Conservation District. Scottsburg FFA was nominated for this award by the Scott County Soil and Water District for their efforts in working beside them to serve our community.

The Scott County Soil and Water felt that Scottsburg FFA deserved to be nominated, due to the contributions made to their program. Scottsburg FFA works with the SWCD to distribute saplings to fourth grade students throughout SCSD2, represents Scottsburg FFA at every local SWCD meeting, aid at workshops when needed, serve food at the Annual SWCD Meeting, and allows the SWCD to set up a booth at the Annual Ag Day Breakfast. It is through these contributions to the Scott County SWCD that the Scottsburg FFA was awarded the IASWCD Friend of Conservation Award.

On the January 23, 2018 Scottsburg FFA hosted the District XI Chapter Challenge. They had seven chapters and 64 members from the district attend. Scottsburg FFA set up activities in McClain Hall such as cornhole, jeopardy, amazing race, and a pie eating contest for the different chapters that attended. Chapter Challenge is an event held annually by District XI that allows the chapter within the district to come together and compete with one another. Scottsburg FFA hosted this event because they have two district officers in the Scottsburg FFA Chapter. Emma Hall is Vice President, and Tessa Richey is Secretary of District XI.


Leave a Reply

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: