Awards given out to outstanding FFA members

On April 29th, the FFA hosted their annual FFA banquet where awards and recognitions of outstanding FFA members were handed out.

The Star Discovery Award was given to Hannah Smith (8) due to her “dedication and relentless support.”

The Star Greenhand Award, which is an award designed to recognize a Greenhand member who shows promise, leadership and the foundation for a strong SAE, was given to Oliva Hamelman (9).

Kaitlyn Border (12) was awarded the Star in Agriculture Placement Award due to her having the “most outstanding work-related SAE program.”

The 8th Grade Scholastic Award was given to Jenna Buckner, Lexi Edwards and Hannah Smith. The Freshman Scholastic Award was given to Olivia Hamelman. Jaiden Herald and Elle Fleenor received the Sophomore Scholastic Award. Lindsey Phaffenbach received the Junior Scholastic Award and Allison Binkley received the Senior Scholastic Award.

The Scottsburg FFA chapter also recognized members from each grade level that they considered WOW members for the year. These members were Jenna Buckner (8), Sam Everett (9), Heidi Taylor (10), Jared Bowman (11) and Allison Binkley (12).

Each agriculture class has its own award for the most outstanding students in those classes. Jaylyn Cross (8) and Dalton Judd (9) where each given the Intro to Ag Class Award. The Animal Science Class award was given to Malachi Satchwill (10). Natalie Craig (11) was given the Horticulture Class Award. The Plant and Soil Science Class Award was given to Jared Bowman (11) and Alice Newton (12). Asya Nation (11) was given the Advanced Life Science: Animals Class Award.

Shirley Witt (9) was given the Outstanding Chapter Service Award due to the fact that she “never blinks at a challenge” and can always “lend a helping hand.”

The Outstanding FFA member award was given to Jaiden Herald (11). The recipient of this award was decided on by the FFA Chapter Officers.

Kaitlyn Borden was given the Outstanding FFA Officer Award, which was decided by the executive team members.

Because of her improvements over the past year, Kaitlinne Moldero (11) was given the Most Improved Officer Award.

Kaitlyn Borden was also given the Workhorse Award because she expressed “real work and dedication” to the FFA this year.

Emma Hall (12) also received the Alumni Scholarship at the FFA Banquet.

Leave a Reply

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: